Southern Metropolitan Region | Sue Pennicuik

Southern Metropolitan Region

Southern Metropolitan Region

Southern Metropolitan Region is one of eight Legislative Council Regions, each of which is represented by five members. The region is made up of eleven lower house districts: Albert Park, Bentleigh, Brighton, Burwood, Caulfield, Hawthorn, Kew, Malvern, Oakleigh, Prahran and Sandringham.

It follows Port Phillip Bay from Port Melbourne to Mentone and Beaumaris and stretches eastwards to suburbs such as Bentleigh, Clayton, Mulgrave, Box Hill South and Balwyn North.

It includes parts of nine local councils, with the cities of Port Phillip, Stonnington, Boroondara, Bayside and Glen Eira being the major local government areas in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Southern Metropolitan is a predominantly residential area and is the most urbanised of the eight regions. It includes landmarks such as the Arts Precinct, the Botanic Gardens, Albert Park, Government House, the iconic Palais Theatre and Rippon Lea Mansion, vibrant shopping districts like the Prahran and South Melbourne Markets, and beautiful scenery stretching from the Yarra to the Bay beaches. The region is well connected to public transport and contains the campuses of Swinburne and Monash Universities and Holmesglen TAFE, in addition to dozens of primary and secondary schools.

The Greens in Southern Metropolitan Region

The Greens have a strong presence in the region, with MPs in both houses of Victorian Parliament and councillors on Glen Eira, Melbourne, Stonnington and Whitehorse councils.